Wednesday, November 16, 2011

First wishes and milestones.......

So some exciting and fun stuff this past week! My son turned one on the 10th of this month and tore into some cake at his party a couple days later.....I'm just still in disbelief that my son is actually one it just seems like yesterday I was still waddling around. It's just a healthy reminder that time is moving fast and you should cherish every little moment. Also on his birthday I took him to get his very first big boy haircut. He had the cutest little curls that are gone now :( ,but they were in his eyes so I had no choice really. But what was also fun and exciting was my daughter who is 4 had never had her haircut (b/c she wants to be repunzel) got her first trim that same day!! So both of my children had a first together and as a mother it made me super happy!! We went on to have a wonderful weekend as a family together. My son got a lot of neat stuff at his party that him and his sister have been enjoying the last couple of days. And I've been enjoying watching them.





This week started my first week as a stay at home mom. Now I will say my boss did give me a good opportunity. I'll be going in on Mondays to do some admin work for him to stay in the system in case I ever needed to go back. How awesome is that!!. It's only day two in my stay at home status though and I will say it's been different. I have no idea what day it is lol. I took the kids yesterday to the monastery. It's very pretty and quiet there and we took some pictures. Today I focused on finding work from home jobs and got some pretty good leads. I put in a few application and I'm crossing my fingers. I was a little nervous on one of the tests I had to do for one of the jobs though because it was over the phone. I had to record my response to something and I felt a little odd lol so I stumbled through it so I have a feeling I bombed on that one. Let's hope the others go a little better.....That's my at home adventure so far. I'm looking forward to Thanksgiving just around the corner. My favorite holiday!! You can never go wrong with tons of food and family!!

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Life is like the leaves, it's always changing!

It's getting colder and colder as we move into fall and those leaves are a changin', and so is life. A major change is about to take place in my life and it all snow balled between Thursday and Friday. I know in my last post that I stated the changes I wanted to make in my life and the goals that I created for myself. Well one decision was pretty much made for me and that is to quit my job of almost 9 years and be a stay at home mommy! I was working limited hours to begin with 4 hours a day 4 days a week 16 hours a week. As a shift manager I need full availability, but since I had my son almost a year ago that just wasn't practical for me especially since I was breast feeding him. My boss worked out a schedule for me, and my mom has been my babysitter for the past 4 years watching my daughter already. Needless to say she's ready to be grandma and it was becoming too much with her homeschooling my brother who is six. So Thursday we talked about it and there came a new possibility of putting them in day care! Not something I'm prepared nor want to do. Simply because it would be a waste of money! Daycare is expensive!!! Not to mention I wouldn't make enough, so basically I would be working to pay for daycare and for someone else to watch my kids when I can do it myself and know they are safe and happy! Well then Friday my boss called about another situation at work where one of our other managers quit. So basically came the need for me to work more which he's been pushing for months because he is running a business and needs people to work. He has accommodated me for so long that it was time that I started to give back. But I can't. I explained my situation and was honest and his advice to me was to quit. Because if I stay on the schedule I have there's a possibility of getting even less hours for me. He's hiring more people and they will get the hours. So I talked to my husband and made a decision. My last two weeks as a shift manager at Arby's starts tomorrow! Now here's the big question. How exactly do I feel about all of this happening so fast? Well I'm scared I've been working since I was a kid and making my own money. Now I will have to be 100 percent dependant on my husband. I've always enjoyed making my own money and that was kind of the last Independence I had left lol because my kids take up all of my time :). Which is fine because I love them, they're cute (most of the time)! I also don't want it to be a problem in my marriage with all the pressure being put on my husband he works super hard! Other than that I will miss the people I work with and the customers I interacted with on a daily basis. On the other side of it I'm super excited to already get one of my goals out of the way and move a step in the direction I'm ready for my life to take! I'm excited about being with my kids and knowing they finally get their mother 100 percent and they can count on that! So that's where I'm at so far in my journey! Definitely exciting!! I still am going to try to find something from home to try and make some of my own money, so that will be my next step!


Onto another topic. Something that truly bugs me. Let me start off by saying that in awaiting Addison Moore's 5th installment of the Celestra series I bought some more books from amazon to get through the next month to take my mind off of it lol. I started reading some of M. Leighton's books which I enjoyed especially the Madly series!! I can't wait for the next installment! But also I was contacted via facebook by another huge Addison Moore fan, and she asked me to check out her book. The author is Ella James and her book is Stained. Well I read it and enjoyed the heck out of it! So I stumbled over to amazon to write a review, which I also decided to do more of because of what bugs me! That is that people write a perfectly nice review but only give like 3 stars?....I'm like what!! Then their reason for it is totally bogus!! Now I realize that these authors are self publishing and self promoting. They get their sales by word of mouth, self promotion, and amazon! And the rating of a review does matter to some people! For example when I went to give a review on Ms. James book somebody gave her a good review and 3 stars b/c their were a "few" errors in the book!!....WHAT!! seriously? you downloaded a book onto a kindle knowing it's self publishing author it's not that big of a deal...At least if it bothers you that much give 4 stars. I believe you should write a review about the story itself not the occasional misspelled or extra word! You get that anywhere! LOL the ironic thing about that particular review though was that her grammar wasn't the best either in the review...so do you think I commented? You betcha!!! There was another review that said the book was great, but they just never give 5 stars!!! This just frustrates me simply for the author when they enjoy what they do and they rely on stuff like that...not 100 percent but it helps and people like that just suck!! Now if you really didn't like the book and your just giving your honest opinion that's one thing. I just wish people would stop being soooo picky! For this reason I base my choice of reading on the description and whether or not it interests me and if the majority of the reviews are awesome that helps!! That's my ranting about that lol. Needless to say though is I have another author to follow and another series to add to my list. Next up I'm going to start on the Reaping by M. Leighton!

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Ocean Waves

Aaaaah, I love the ocean!! I'm currently on I guess you would call a church retreat in Myrtle Beach, SC. Waking up and looking off my balcony to a beautiful view of the ocean is so refreshing and relaxing!! If I could do it every day I totally would! I only live about an hour away from the beach, but I never find the time to go or have anyone available to go with. Aside from having a week and a half away from reality of home and work I'm getting to spend quality stress free time with my children which I'm enjoying!! Also being here going to church everyday and being around like minded people of faith is amazing to me! It truly is an amazing experience! I learn so much about myself and love being around my church family to bring me back to the real reality! I love my faith and what I believe in!! I hate to have to leave in a few days, but until then I fully intend to enjoy every minute of it and the fellowship! This is the time of year I look forward to every year! We all get so burdened by life and everything going on around us from day to day we take a lot for granted instead of rejoicing and looking at all the blessings in our lives. So I definitely take this time to reflect on the passed year and set goals for the coming year. It's kind of like my new years haha! So I'm going to share with you my goals for the next year. By next year I mean starting now until next October! First I want to apply what I've learned on my trip to my life in general! By that I mean strengthen my relationship with God, and really applying certain things to my life and behavior. Also I want to continue to strengthen my marriage it's on a good path and I want it to stay that way. Be a better mother! I'm a good mom I love my kids more than anything and they are my life. But I know I make mistakes and I want to learn from them and learn some patience to be a better mother and role model for my kids! Finally I want to find something that I can do from home making a little extra income while being a stay at home mom (which I'm currently not). I really feel my kids need me in that capacity as I need them. It's not that I dislike working out of my home because I do. Even though my job drives me crazy at times it has been my second home since I was 16 and I've always worked hard at it. Now I feel it's time to move on and do what I love to do the most and that's be the mother I was meant to be :). At the same time I love making money and having that independence so I really want to find that extra income! Last but not least stop procrastinating and just get it done!! I'm the type of person that dips my toes in the water before getting in and sometimes that toe barely grazes the water! I would love to just move past fears I may have or anticipation of possible failure and just jump into life sometimes! Any who those are my basic goals for the next year! We'll see how it goes ;)!!

Saturday, September 17, 2011

Hoodies and Coffee!

Wow, so I can't believe it's been a little over a moth since I posted last!! I guess I'll give an update of life over the last month! I'll start off by saying it has been crazy not so much busy just crazy lol! Which is actually pretty much normal for me my kids keep me completely insane(in a good way) ;)!! Speaking of kids my son has been walking since August 2nd, has two teeth with more on the way, and is into EVERYTHING!! He's now Ten months old and I feel like his terrible two's have already hit lol I know it only gets better from here! He truly is a fun little guy though he is completely content and happy always and I love that about him! The only time he's grumpy is when his teeth are bothering him. Which has been the last couple of weeks. He's kept me up a lot of nights which has made for some dragging at work the next day for me! I totally forgot about the all night teethers with my daughter I believe I blocked them out! Good times though!! My daughter is keeping me busy as well! She's growing up way too fast and I don't know what to do with her! She's way to smart for her own good lol! She already has a mind of her own and says what she means and means what she says! I just hope she uses that stubborn determined attitude for good one day! It will definitely take her far if used positively :)! They are the highlight of my life and my greatest accomplishment! I love being mommy!!

My husband and I celebrated our two year anniversary this past week!! I'm so excited about it and proud of us in general! Most young couples today barely make it passed the first year which is pretty sad. We for sure struggle with ourselves. We are far from perfect and go through a lot, but we always make out together and stronger! Plus no matter what we do go through or how mad he makes me sometimes, he is the love of my life the father of my children and really the first person I would want by my side through anything hard. He's my best friend! <3

On another side note the weather here in South Carolina has been beautiful!! We have a cold front coming through right now and it feels like fall already! Not that I'm really looking forward to fall because I totally like my warm weather, it's just a really nice change from 100 degree weather!! So I've been breaking out some coffee the last couple of days and I'm sitting here and my hoodie and slipper socks(love these things)!!


Sooooo some exciting news! Addison Moore put out the fourth installment of the Celestra series!! Wicked was completely awesome and I could NOT put the book down! I give it 5 stars!! I bought it as soon as it hit Amazon's eshelves and read it straight through! The end was another cliff hanger and had my mind blown away! I can't wait for the fifth book to come out to find out what happens next! If you haven't yet checked these books out you have to do so!! Addison is by far one of my fav authors and I'm so happy I stumbled upon her books!


That's all I have for now! I'm going to try to get back into keeping my blog up to date!

Saturday, August 6, 2011

Messes and thunderstorms!

From beginning to end this Friday has been chalked full of messes and thunderstorms! I'll keep the thunderstorms because this South Carolina heat needed that rain to cool us all off. The messes can stop though LOL! My kids definitely kept me on my toes today! Let me start off by saying I didn't get much sleep last night. My son has been teething for the past month and starts to stir around 2AM and doesn't stop tossing and turning until we get up! So we finally got up this morning and ANTS everywhere!! UGH! I thought I got rid of them because I had a problem with them in my sons room last week. Today I walked into the living room and there they were! They were after my daughter's pizza crust that I didn't realize she didn't eat from last night. Our cat must of knocked it in the floor and the ants were super happy indeed. Needless to say I started my morning off getting rid of ants! I need to figure out where they are coming from because I have noticed they emerge if the tiniest crumb or a wrapper goes unnoticed in my house! After I had the ants taken care of I fed the children and myself. Friday's are my day off from my part time job and I get to work my full time job as mommy :)! I love having my Friday's to spend the whole day with my kids. Usually I just put the baby gates up turn on some cartoons and we all hangout and play! Today with no sleep and the ant situation first thing, I just fed us and laid on the couch! Then the second mess comes about when my son grabbed my daughters juice off the coffee table and spilled the cup all over the table! LOL well the table needed to be cleaned anyways!! Mess number three, my daughter spills the last bit of chips out of the chip bag at lunch time...Did I mention the ants earlier?? So we quickly cleaned that up before those pests made an appearance again! Mess number four.....love my pets do not like their messes either though. My cat also left me a present in the study! YAY! Mess number five while running away to the babies room for a brief few minutes to plug my laptop in and check a couple of things my daughter decided to make some wall art in the living room! That's going to take a bit longer to clean...So finally I thought that was it. I get the kids to bed and I'm just like wow what a weird day?! Because I mean usually I have the normal everyday messes, but never have I spent my whole day cleaning up the most random things! Well after having the kids in bed my husband brought us home some dinner...and guess what! Yep you guessed it I had an accident and dumped my food all over the floor! It was rice and chicken! It was only fit for this crazy day!! LOL usually I don't go on about stuff like this but it's just been so crazy I had to share! My husband and I had a really good laugh at my expense though, and he was sweet to give me what was left of his dinner!! A mommy's job never ends though and I am okay with that!! Messes and all! They might drive me insane in that moment and I might groan about it, but I sit here at the end of the day and relive it in my head and just have to laugh! I wouldn't trade any of it for the world!! This was for sure a day in the life of fuzzy slippers!! I also hope you got a good laugh too because I'm sure everyone can relate to this day! :)

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Hello August!!

July finally ended!! Usually I wouldn't celebrate so much, but seriously craziest month of my year I believe! So much happened last month, but I can definitely say I grew as a person. Also some of my relationships grew stronger and other's well just became non existent. So now this new month is here with new possibilities and I'm excited to see what it has for me. My husband's birthday is right around the corner. I have no idea what to get him as usual! Also my son will be 9 months old...A year is coming up tooo fast!! He took is first steps this evening and I was outside doing the laundry, and totally missed it!! :(( Talk about heart broken! My husband was there to see it though, so that was good for him. :)....I still wish I could of seen it! My husband the kids and I went bowling tonight as a family :)..It was a lot of fun especially for my daughter she needs more nights like this in her life :). Actually we all do!! There's nothing like spending time with family and creating those bonds and memories!! It's shaping up to be a good week, and I hope it stays that way. I'm hoping for a good month as well and maybe some peace for a bit! :)


I finally read the third book in the celestra series by Addison Moore! I couldn't put it down. I read it in two days. Would of been one day, but that would of been a little difficult...It was super good and left me wanting more. So now I can not wait for the 4th book to come out! I definitely put this series up there next to twilight! Totally feel like a nerd right now, but I don't care.....So as I wait for the 4th installment I plan on reading The Help next! I saw the book before the previews for the movie started coming out, but haven't had a chance to read it yet because of the series I've been reading! So hopefully it's good and if it is I'll write about it ;)!!

Now I must try and get some rest. Tomorrow is probably going to be a long day for me since my boss has a meeting and I get to run the store tomorrow...Yay! I pray it goes smoothly and nobody complains :)....Always stay optimistic!! Goodnight!

Saturday, July 30, 2011

Oh July, Where did you go?

So, I can NOT believe this month is already two days from being over....Really? Where is the time going? It seems like just yesterday I was on my way to Texas. It's been a really busy month and down right overwhelming for me to say the least. I'm hoping August will be a slower more relaxing month lol. Fingers crossed on that one. July was a good month though I saw family I hadn't seen in forever and also met new family members I'd never met. My baby girl turned 4 and she absolutely loved her birthday party and all her presents. My best friend and I made her birthday cake which was awesome! My mother and sister also had a birthday, as well as my great grandmother which was the reason for the Texas trip...July also had it's tough moments my uncles birthday was in there to which he unfortunately isn't here to celebrate :(, but my daughters birthday helps ease that pain :)..My grandparents were also in a bad automobile accident and we are very blessed to still have them with us. They walked away pretty banged up but by the grace of God they are still with us! I thank God for all the blessings in my life daily! So with the good comes the bad and with the bad the good it's what you take away from all of life's experiences that matter the most. Life is precious! I cant wait to see what August has in store ;).

Also within the month of July two of the books I was waiting for to come out from two different series made their debut's! I was so excited(still am)! I re read the first series I was waiting on and now I'm starting on the second series now. I read so many books in between that I like to refresh my memory :). They were the third installments for both series. The first one was the Wolves Of Mercy Falls. The third book was okay. I read a lot of reviews before reading it though which I dont like to do because people are different with what they like. That being say I liked the third book I was hoping it was a little different but it was still good and tied it up nicely. This second series is one of my favorites it's the Celestra series by Addison Moore. I find her to be a great author and look forward to reading more of her stuff. I haven't gotten the the third book yet because I'm back on the first Ethereal, but I can not wait! So when I read it you know I'll tell you about it!


Onto another topic...My faith was tested this week. I'm going to make this a long story short. Someone commented on a thread on facebook and basically stated their opinion on why they believe most people believe in God. Well I found what she said to basically be offensive. I'll tell you why. You can't go and say why people believe what they believe period. You just can not. Your faith or non faith or whatever you believe is yours and yours alone. PERIOD. If you do believe in God which I do. That's personal. Your faith is personal. Just like any other relationship you have with someone. It's no one else's relationship but yours. So who is someone to say what they think about why people follow God or believe in him? Who am I to say why you don't believe in him??? It's hypocrisy at it's finest. I guarantee you if I said anything about why they didn't believe in him I'd be accused of  "judging" them...but telling me why I believe in God isn't that "judging" me?? See it's a double standard with people like that who think they are so wise. My thing is, is that I have plenty of friends that don't believe in God or have other religions, and friends that just don't care either way. I respect them and they respect me plain and simple. They dont sit there and put christianity on blast because they dont believe it to exist. Like I dont put them on blast for not believing. Religion is not debatable to me it's not politics. It's your personal life's journey that's up to you. That's something that all of us will one day have to face. It's like people who sit there and try to disprove the Bible and people who want to get scientific to disprove it...Really? Why do you care so much? Why do you try so hard to disprove what I believe? If you have to try that hard to justify yourself for not believing then that's your problem not mine maybe you should reevaluate your situation. Because if you don't believe then just  leave it at that I don't harass people and try to preach to them the gospel and tell them they're going to hell because they don't believe(which I never would b/c *gasp* I don't believe in hell)..My point is why are you trying so hard if your proud of what you think and believe in why do you try so hard to disprove what other people believe and trash them and mock them??.....If you dont agree with people's religions then dont listen to it respect the fact that that's what they believe and be happy for them...But DO NOT sit there and try to speak against it. It's not your place. I have a completely different religion than most. For example I dont celebrate Christmas. Now if someone were to ask me why I would tell them (which by the way I was told when I was a child by a teacher I was going to hell) but would I condemn them FOR celebrating it NO. Now me on the other hand I've been looked at funny, made fun of, all types of things my whole life. My point is I dont care!! I know what I believe I'm strong in my faith. I dont have to go out and preach about it or shove it down someone's throat. If you want to know you can ask. It's simple. If it intriques you in any way to further study that's great! If you want to tell me I'm weird that's great! But again DO NOT tell me why I believe in God because you have no idea about my life and what i've been through nor do you know anybodys journey and their life and what they've been through. I guess this really wasn't a long story short. LOL My point is there's some things you can't debate about and that's someone's faith or why they have that faith because that's their's and their's alone. I realize that there are some churches out there that are hypocrites and there's a man teaching you what HE thinks is best...but you know ALL christians aren't like that. So my advice to someone who is discouraged by that would be to just walk away from that church and those types of people. Dont lump everybody up into one category because of it though It takes time to find a church family your comfortable with or people with your mindset. Or you could find a church family you like right away. The fact is nobody is perfect and you can't make everyone happy. It's simple. I'm going to leave off with this....I'd rather live my life believing that he exist than live my life disregarding him and find out that he does.